Senator Cramer and colleagues oppose Biden’s vaccine mandate for healthcare workers

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Kevin Cramer (R-ND) joined with Senator Roger Marshall (R-KS) in bringing forward a resolution of disapproval under the Congressional Review Act (CRA), the formal process for Congress to eliminate an executive rule. The resolution would end President Biden’s Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) mandate to vaccinate virtually all healthcare workers and prevent a similar rule from being proposed in the future.

“While Joe Biden’s COVID-19 vaccine warrants have been regularly overturned by the courts, I am working to fight them in Congress. This resolution aims to ensure that Biden, or any future president, can never impose an unconstitutional vaccine mandate on doctors, nurses and first responders, especially those on the front lines since the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic. “, Senator Cramer said.

“The Biden administration‘s CMS vaccination mandate is a slap in the face of the hard-working men and women who never took a day off in the frontline fight of the COVID-19 battle. These pandemic heroes are being fired for choosing not to take the COVID vaccine, although many of them are immune from natural infection. As a doctor, I am convinced that the vaccine has saved lives; however, whether to receive it or not is a personal choice between individuals and their doctor – not mandated by executive actions ”, Senator Marshall said. “With this ARC, we continue to do everything in our power to fight for those who ran to the sound of battle – for they are the true heroes of the pandemic and deserve our best fight and our greatest respect. “

Senators Cramer and Marshall are joined on the resolution by Senators Jerry Moran (R-KS), John Barrasso (R-WY), Mike Lee (R-UT), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Jim Inhofe (R- OK), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), John Hoeven (R-ND), Steve Daines (R-MT), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Roger Wicker (R-MS), James Lankford (R- OK), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Mike Braun (R-IN), Rand Paul (R-KY), James Risch (R-ID), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Ted Cruz (R-TX) , Thom Tillis (R-NC), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Rick Scott (R-FL), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Tim Scott (R-SC), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Richard Shelby (R-AL) and John Boozman (R-AR). U.S. Representative Jeff Duncan (R-SC) and Republican leaders from the House Energy and Commerce Committee are leading efforts in the House.