Russia Says ‘No’ to Any Further Visits by Hundreds of Congress Members

WASHINGTON — Hundreds of members of Congress are permanently banned from visiting Russiain retaliation for the adoption of economic sanctions against the country after its invasion of Ukraine in late February.

The list includes nearly 1,000 Americans, including President Joe Biden and Vice President Kamala Harris, as well as celebrities such as actor Morgan Freeman, executives such as Microsoft Chairman Brad Smith and government leaders such as Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg.

“We emphasize that hostile actions taken by Washington, which boomerang against the United States itself, will continue to receive appropriate rebuff,” the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement. “The Russian counter-sanctions are forced and intended to force the ruling US regime, which is trying to impose a neocolonial “rules-based world order” on the rest of the world, to change its behavior, recognizing new geopolitical realities.

Congress released $40 billion in aid to Ukraine earlier this month, the second multi-billion dollar package since the war began in late February.

Of the 963 people banned, more than 230 are Republican and Democratic members of Congress. Top congressional leaders were also on the list, such as House Speaker Nancy Pelosi of California, Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer of New York and House Majority Whip Steny Hoyer of Maryland.

From Ohio, this includes:

Senator Sherrod Brown (D)

Senator Rob Portman (R)

Representative Tim Ryan (D)

Representative Brad Wenstrup (R)

Representative Troy Balderson (R)

Representative Joyce Beatty (D)

Representative Steve Chabot (R)

Rep. Shontel Brown (D)

Representative Bob Gibbs (R)

Representative Anthony Gonzalez (R)

Rep. David Joyce (R)

Representative Bill Johnson (R)

Representative Jim Jordan (R)

Representative Warren Davidson (R)

Rep. Marcy Captur (D)

Representative Mike Carey (R)

Get morning headlines delivered to your inbox