The Pan-Africanist Congress (PAC) was formed in April 1959 in Soweto as an escape from the African National Congress (ANC). Influenced by the Africanist ideals of Kwame Nkrumah, the PAC promotes the return of the land to indigenous peoples.

Flag: Green, black and gold with a black map of Africa and a gold star.

Constitution: The constitution of PAC is taken from Karis & Carter. One of its objectives is “to unite and rally the African people into a single national front on the basis of African nationalism”.

The PAC was banned with the ANC in 1960 after the Sharpeville massacre. Its leaders have been exiled or detained for long periods. These included Robert Sobukwe, its founder and leader, who was incarcerated on Robben Island until 1969, then placed under house arrest until his death in 1978.

Former commander of the Azanian People’s Liberation Army (Apla), Letlapa Mphahlele was re-elected president for a second term at the party’s national elective congress in 2012.

Support for the party has continued to erode since 1994. In 2003, Patricia de Lille, then a member of the PAC, left to form her own party, the Independent Democrats.

In addition, the party’s former vice-president, Themba Godi, split from the party during the 2007 transition period to form the African People’s Convention (APC).

In October 2008, the party’s former secretary general, Thami Ka Plaatjie, followed suit by leaving the PAC to form the Pan-Africanist Movement (PAM).

In the 2011 local elections, the PAC obtained 147,589 votes (0.43%). Three years later, the party won just 0.21% support in the 2014 general election, earning it a seat in parliament.

In the 2016 municipal elections, the PAC obtained 74,607 votes (0.19%).

Source link