National Baseball Congress Announces 2022 Hall of Fame Inductees

WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW) – The National Baseball Congress has announced the 2022 NBC Hall of Fame inductees.

Pat Gillick was a gifted pitcher and member of the 1958 World College Series champion USC Trojans before spending five years in the minor leagues. The Chico, Calif. native started out working in professional baseball but still tried as a player. Gillick won pitcher of the year and All-American honors in 1965 for NBC champion Rapid Transit Dreamliners. Pat pitched 13 innings and allowed only one earned run, with 18 strikeouts. As a Major League Baseball executive, Gillick served as general manager of the Blue Jays, Orioles, Mariners and Phillies. Became a three-time world champion as general manager of the Toronto Blue Jays (1992 and 1993) and the Philadelphia Phillies in 2008. In 2011, he was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

William (Bill) Storrs Sr. founded the Crestwood (IL) Panthers in 1976 and led the team for 41 years. The Panthers participated in the NBC World Series 21 times from 1991 to 2016, finishing 3rd place twice (2006 and 2007) and were top ten teams for 8 years. During his tenure as manager/general manager of the Crestwood Panthers, the Panthers won 26 Northern Illinois Baseball League Championships and 4 Chicago Suburban League Championships.

Dennis Walker umpired the NBC World Series for 25 years, spanning the 1970s, 80s and 90s. He spent three years as a professional baseball umpire in the Northern League and Florida State League. After that, he moved on to college baseball, Missouri Valley work games, and Big 8/Big 12 conferences. In addition to his college duties, Walker umpired summer league baseball, which eventually led him to NBC. He also refereed college football and basketball during those years. Following the 2006 season, Walker retired after 43 years of officiating and officiating.

Inductees will be honored at the 88th NBC World Series powered by Evergy on Friday, August 5, at Wichita State University’s Eck Stadium following the 6 p.m. game.