Congress leader Mukhyamantri Chandru resigns from the party; invokes “personal reasons”

In a major jolt to Karnataka Congress unity, party leader Mukhyamantri Chandru resigned from the party’s main membership on Sunday. Citing personal reasons, the politician tendered his resignation to the chairman of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC), DK Shivakumar.

The resignation letter dated 5/28/2022 goes on to explain his reason for resigning from Congress party membership. Without raising any issue with the party, the party leader said:

“I joined the Congress party which has a long history in the country, hoping to serve the people on a large scale. Moreover, it has been an honest job satisfaction since I joined the party.”

The letter also clarified that Chandru’s resignation from the party did not result from assuming responsibility as chairman of the party’s cultural unit. In addition to this, he also expressed his gratitude to all party leaders and workers who have shown immense support so far.

Meanwhile, although the party leader did not state the reasons for his resignation, reports suggest that Chandru, who was expecting a Legislative Council member or a Rajya Sabha ticket, left because he was not considered and was not recognized for his service to the party.

Notably, this came just as Karnataka is gearing up for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections to name its four vacant seats as well as the MLC elections in the state.

MLC elections

Elections for the seven seats of the Karnataka Legislative Council were scheduled for June 3, which is to be elected by the Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) and the three main political parties in the state – the Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Janata Dal (secular)-JD(S).

Notably, the election was made necessary because the terms of seven members are due to expire on June 14. The seats will become vacant due to the retirement of MLCs – Laxman Sangappa Savadi and Lahar Singh Siroya from the BJP; Ramappa Timmapur, Allum Veerabhadrappa, Veena Achaiah S of Congress; and HM Ramesha Gowda and Narayana Swamy KV of JD(S).

Earlier on Friday, seven candidates, who were vying for election, were elected unopposed by Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) and were declared the winners.

Rajya Sabha Elections

Following the Election Commission of India’s announcement to hold elections for 57 Rajya Sabha seats in 15 states and union territories (UT), including Haryana, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and three from Odisha on June 10, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is poised to win the four vacant seats in the state, while on the other hand, opposition parties, including the Congress and the (Secular) Janata Dal (JDS), are also in the running.